I can do it

My first attempt at writing a blog post on mobile so I’m hoping that this works. To be honest I am experiencing a slight writing burnout because of revisions on my Pitchwars novel.

Pitchwars is a twitter contest where writers submit their manuscripts with the hope that a mentor will pick them. Each team then revises the MS for 2 months before submitting the story to the agent round.

I decided that my goal was to enter Pitchwars with a finished MS. In June I had a rough first draft but I felt like it was a solid structure to work from. I spent the rest of June and all of July writing, revising and editing for many hours a day. I lived, breathed and focused on that novel and in the end I was able to submit by the time the deadline rolled around.

The feeling of “I can do it!” is exhilarating especially when the next phrase comes around: “I did it!” The same wonderful feeling as running a half marathon. I may not be as fast as the person that ran ahead of me. My novel may be not quite there yet in the grand scheme of things. But I did it! And next time, I know I can do it again and do it better.

There are many things we can accomplish in our lives if we are able to put aside our distractions in order to focus on doing them. While writing I admittedly did not eat as healthy or get as much sleep but I also had a deadline in mind. I knew that this was not going to last forever and that I can push myself a little more than usual.

In the end, my goal is to receive a request through pitchwars and I’m hopeful for that. But in the end the supportive writing community and the wonderful people I’ve met during the experience is the best thing of all.

Leave a comment